Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Matthew tutors in San Antonio, TX

Matthew W.

Private tutor in San Antonio, TX

Education

University of Washington - B.A., Anthropology , University of Texas at San Antonio - PhD, Anthropology

Experience

Archaeology is my passion. As a PhD student, I am fully immersed in academics. I have been tutoring or teaching since high school, and I enjoy helping students to gain a strong foundation in any subject area. I hold two bachelor's degrees from the University of Washington, one in biology and the other in anthropology with an archaeology focus. I am now at the University of Texas, San Antonio where I am earning a doctorate degree in anthropology, continuing to focus on archaeology. In addition to tutoring, I have worked as a teaching assistant and instructor of undergraduate classes. Working toward my PhD, I am constantly engaged in learning and writing, two of my favorite things. Apart from academics, I enjoy hiking, reading, traveling, and skiing or snowboarding.As a tutor, I am committed to providing students with clear explanations of foundational materials. I am endlessly patient with explaining the concepts and information that forms the base of understanding and success in each subject area. I believe that for students to develop the ability to learn independently, they must establish this foundation of knowledge. In addition to anthropology, I love literature and writing. I especially enjoy tutoring students in anthropology, world history, and English, both literature and composition. I specialize in AP English exam preparation. I also enjoy tutoring students in many other subject areas including mathematics, Spanish, and science.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Hiking, reading, traveling, skiing/snowboarding

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!